Byelection (2023)

The City of Wetaskiwin will be holding a municipal byelection on Tuesday, August 15, 2023 to elect one (1) councillor.

Election Day

The City of Wetaskiwin municipal byelection is scheduled for:

Date: Tuesday, August 15, 2023
Time: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Drill Hall (4513 50 Avenue) | View in Google Maps

Click HERE to view the Notice of Election advertisement.

Municipal Candidates Public Forum

The Municipal Candidates Public Forum for the byelection was hosted by the Leduc, Nisku, and Wetaskiwin Regional Chamber of Commerce on Wednesday, July 26. If you missed the forum, a recording of the event has been made available for your listening pleasure HERE.

Advance Polls

Advance voting will take place on Saturday, August 12, 2023, from 12 p.m. to 7 p.m. at the Memorial Arts Centre (5206 50 Street) | View in Google Maps

Voter Eligibility

To vote in the City of Wetaskiwin's municipal byelection, an individual must be:

  • at least 18 years old
  • a Canadian citizen
  • a resident of the City of Wetaskiwin on Election Day (Tuesday, August 15, 2023)

Individuals who own property or a business in Wetaskiwin but are not residents are not permitted to vote.

If a candidate, a candidate’s official agent, or a scrutineer believes a voter is not eligible to vote, an objection will be noted on the voting register.

Special Ballots

Institutional voting will take place Tuesday, August 15. Locations for institutional voting are: Wetaskiwin Hospital and Care Centre;  Good Shepard Lutheran Home; Peace Hills Lodge; Kiwanis Kourt; Wetaskiwin Meadows; Madyson Manor; Sunrise Village; and Sagebrush.

Special Ballots are available to those that are unable to vote at the Advance Vote or at the voting station on Election Day due to: physical incapacity; absence from the local jurisdiction; or being a Returning Officer, Deputy Returning Officer, Constable, Candidate, or Agent.

Click HERE for more information on Special Ballots.

Voter Identification Information

In order to vote in the 2023 Wetaskiwin municipal byelection, voters are required to provide one piece of identification that establishes both their name and current residential address, as well as make a statement in the presence of an election officer at the voting station.

Any of the following documents containing both your name and address will be accepted as valid proof of identification:

  • Photo identification issued by a Canadian government or agency, whether federal, provincial, or local or an agency of that government, that contains a photograph of the elector and their name and current address.
  • Alberta Operator’s (Driver’s) Licence.
  • Alberta Identification Card.
  • Bank/credit card statement or personal cheque.
  • Correspondence issued by a school, college, or university.
  • Government cheque or cheque stub.
  • Income or property tax assessment notice.
  • Utility bill (for example, telephone, public utilities commission, television, hydro, gas, or water).
  • Letter from a public curator, public guardian, or public trustee.

Byelection Workers

The City of Wetaskiwin has hired workers to help facilitate the upcoming 2023 Municipal Byelection. Those selected to be byelection workers are required to attend one of two training sessions:

Option 1: In-Person Training

Date: Tuesday, August 1, 2023
Time: 1 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Location: Manluk Centre (4514 50 Avenue)

Option 2: Virtual Training

Date: Tuesday, August 8, 2023
Time: 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Virtual Platform: Microsoft Teams

Please confirm your availability for training and shifts for the Advance Poll and Election Day with the Returning Officer.

Contact Us

Any inquiries regarding the City of Wetaskiwin's municipal election can be directed to:

Ahsan Ahmed
Returning Officer
p: 587.710.3519